1k Elves 3rd Edition

I’ve played WHFB back in the day. I decided to pick up KOW and start off using my old models. I through together this 1k list after quickly reading the rules through once in preparation for a first game with a friend. It comes out at exactly 1k. I’d love some feedback on the list as I’m a noob. Thanks.

Unit Strength: 11

Palace Guard Regiment
Kindred Tallspear Regiment
– Blade of Slashing
Kindred Archer Regiment
– Piercing Arrow
Stormwind Cavalry Troop
Stormwind Cavalry Troop
Battlecat Regiment
Bolt Thrower
Army Standard Bearer
Elven Prince

3 Likes

Hi Trodi,

Especially for a first battle, there’s nothing wrong with a combined arms list such as this one. There’s some infantry, some cavalry, a war machine and some characters.

As 3rd edition is just starting, there’s no tried and tested way to play any army. In any case, the 2dn edition “run&shoot” way of playing elves is no more. It could very well be that a combined infantry force is the way to play!

Good luck and let us know how it went!

I also like to play combined arms with elves. My experience is that it is a fun style to play that opponents also find interesting.

You may want to experiment with an archmage in place of the prince. Elite on spells is really good. But this is a useful starter list that will teach you things about each phase of the game IMO.

I am a casual player without much tournament experience though, so bear that in mind.

Welcome! The list looks decent as is, will serve you fine in your first game. I do think you’ll hurt for a second inspiring (had to check that the Prince just hits things), and an Archmage would be nice so you can experience some magic, even if it’s just blasting things. The only way I could loosen up some points was to combine the Stormwind, which is honestly how you’ll likely run them in future games, as a proper hammer.

Here’s a tweaked list if you’re interested:

Army: Elves
Unit Strength: 12

230, Stormwind Cavalry Regiment