Boomer sergeants vs Berserker Bullies

Let me preface this by saying i’m a noob, so what follows could be just wrong.

I see loads of blogs/reviews/posts singing the praises of Berserker Bullies, and I get it, they are amazing, super smashy, fearless with unit strength on a small nimble base.

The problem as I see it is that ogre hero slots are at a premium with good characters and difficult unlocks. By the time you get your ogre hordes in place for unlocks you have so much face smash in the army that more seems redundant.

Boomer Sergeants however just seem to fill a perfect niche; nimble, low points, not an individual, better than average shooting. It just seems to me that they can shoot and/or act as semi-decent chaff. Who cares about throwing <100 points to bait a charge for your siegebreakers.

So what I’m saying is that it might just be zero experience on my part but i think i’d rather fill any spare hero slots with boomer sergeants, Im obviously not talking about boomer vs the amazing other hero slots like Noma etc…

Open to being educated! :smiley:

1 Like

Check out this is you haven’t already: https://dash28.org/2020/05/21/kings-of-war-3rd-edition-ogre-army-review/

There is nothing at all bad about the boomer sergeant - decent shooting attack, scoring and pretty cheap. The bully though has really quality stats all round, so is objectively ‘better’.

If you are mainly running combat hordes them the boomer, along with the warlock, can provide some decent mobile shooting. On the other hand, if you are running boomer hordes, then getting the bully makes sense (esp if you are also taking the odd berserker unit)

Yeah I’d seen that article, and your observations are spot on, its probably how I would approach building for the ogres in that I prefer combat units (specifically siege breakers) over boomers. If I did build the opposite way then Berserkers are a much better fit. Thanks :slight_smile: