Call to Arms Tournament Round 1 - Undead vs Dwarfs

Call to Arms Tournament Round 1 - Undead vs Dwarfs

Shizunk - Undead
Asier - Dwarfs

full lists below

0. Setup
My second edition zombie troll + wights semi-elite melee-only lists felt kind of out of date in 3rd edition and infantry with dragons wasn’t working for me so far in 03rd, so I took a list I have never tried before. Originally designed for 2300, so at 2000 recommended points I only had 2 catapults, but it still has all the things you want in undead. Cheap slow 4+ hitting power., check. Amazing cavalry (with strider and pathfinder artefacts), check. Catapults, check. A killy individual to fix stuff and remove enemy artillery, check.
My battle plan was to hold the right flank and delay, kill the ironclad horde on the left with a double cav charge and wrap up that entire flank with ease, then turn around to clean up the rest.
Well… it was a good plan while still in my head.

1. My 1
First turn nothing fancy. Move up, make sure to keep firing lines open for catapults (that took me some time to do at setup. It was my third ever game with long range artillery and in the previous ones i misplayed the catapults pretty badly, blocking myself all the time). My thinking was to kill the enemy’s cannons and outshoot him in the long run. Unfortunately I had to shoot two different targets, which the cannons easily survived.
At this point (yes, not before I charged carelessly into shooting range, it was after ) I ran the math and came to the conclusion that my cavalry has a pretty good chance of surviving, even if I took a bit of a risk by exposing them.

2. My honourable opponent’s 1

Turns out my opponent is pretty good at hitting with his cannons (3 out of 4 hits on 5+). And sharpshooters. And Golloch.
My Vampire cavalry died shredded to tiny pieces. There goes my entire battle plan. The chance to overwhelm the left flank is now pretty much gone, just like that. At least the deathpack on the left survived.