The arcane smithy does the following:
but BC has CC so based on the current talk about HSB a caster could already do that, the only new thing is casting a on a friendly that isnât in LoS, but if the caster was in another flank or rear it would still be able to do that, and it still doesnât explain the charge caveat
CC only gives allowance to be cast on, not to be the one who does the casting.
I agree that the charge caveat is still unexplained, unless we assume that they mean charged=engaged.
Long story short Theo we have no idea, punch your opponent on the snout the next time they try it. My head hurts and Iâm going to lie down
If you charge you become engaged.
If you are engaged you canât shoot/be shot at.
Spells with CC allow them to be cast on units that are engaged. This is an exception to the default no shooting at engaged units.
HSB âA spellcaster may cast host shadowbeast onto themselves and can do so even when engaged with an enemy unit.â
This has explicit rule allowing it to be used after charging on the caster. This is an exception to the no shooting while engaged rule.
Arcane Smithy âThis unit may cast their Bane Chant or Host Shadow Beast spell while engaged with an enemy unit, even if the Riftforger was issued a Charge order this turn. If they do so, they may only target Friendly Core units engaged with the same enemy as themselves, regardless of Line of Sight. The Riftforger itself is also a valid target for either spell when cast in this way.â
This allows HSB to be used on another individual in the same combat (which HSB otherwise doesnât ) and break LoS restrictions.
It also allows BC to be used on a unit in same combat - which again is an exception to the casting while engaged & LoS restriction).
If disordered you canât cast.
so the answer is that all casters can cast host shadowbeast on themselves
Thank you. This helps
Yâall are reading way too hard into this.
There is no rule that says you cant charge and shoot.
However, there is a rule that says you canât shoot while engaged (baring an exception for yielding individuals while not disordered), and since all charges end up with you engaged, that prevents all shooting from occuring in combat.
Host shadowbeast has a specific exception for casting while engaged as well as the ability to target self (normally the only viable target as the enemy unit will block LoS).
No other spell has this exception. That means you cannot charge and cast drain life because you are now engaged and cannot use drain life while engaged.
Rift forgers have further utility in that they can also use banechant while engaged, and may use either banechant or HSB on a unit also engaged with the unit they are engaged with.
The line that is aparently tripping people up is the reference to charging in the rift forger rule. And the likely reason for that being the way it is isnât some âwell all other wizards most not be able to chargeâ. Its just that different RC have worked on the rules over the last 5 years and not all of them use the same formatting or language. Its just dated text.
All casters may charge and cast host shadow beast on themselves.
To answer a previous question; yes in previous editions only the riftforged could do this
Then HSB was changed both on how it worked and that you could cast in on yourself while engaged.