Movement trays

Evening!

tl/dr - I made movement trays and thought I’d share the ingredients for anyone else who needs scads of the things and doesn’t want to remortgage their liver.

Long rambling version:
I’m just starting out with KoW, and am seriously considering starting a club for the kids in the school I work at. I have three armies coming together, built of a glorious mess of my old Warhammer stuff and some ebay filler.

Anyway. Given that the armies will potentially be available to multiple people, and in any case, I don’t yet know whether I’d prefer large units or multiple small units, I’m not ready to multibase. So, movement trays. Which are shockingly expensive when buying a large amount to cater for different combinations (are those goblins a unit of sixty? Three units of twenty? Or one of twenty and one of forty?)

So I made some. They’re quick to put together, superglue virtually instantly, and are suprisingly sturdy. They’ll take paint. They’re ridiculously cheap. I thought I’d post the materials, on the offchance anyone’s in the same boat as me.

I used:

Poundland chopping boards for the base (about 3mm thick)
7mm zip ties for the sides (which end up exactly at the height of the top of the models’ bases)
Poundland superglue to unify the two
A knackered old padsaw and a square
Baking powder and superglue to fill any minor indiscretions
Electric sander to round off the corners

5 Likes

Genius! Would never have thought to use cable ties. I have loads of used ones at work. Wonder if I can flatten them with some heavy books?

They seem pretty resistant to being permanently bent - but if they are, I’d imagine chucking them in a bucket of very hot water and then cooling them down pressed flat would do the trick.