Nightstalker: Advice for building army

Hello! I’m relatively new to the game and I’ve finally decided to start a Nightstalkers army!

Any tips or advice on army building and units would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

some good advice regardless of army:

• make sure you read up on what types of units unlock what others. even with list making programs like Good Army Lists (and hopefully soon, Easy Army), keeping track of what your available slots are will make creating an army easier.

• make sure you pick a good core of basic troops. even if they aren’t your main offensive power, regiments and hordes of your basic troops are good for unlocks and ensuring the rest of your army can get into combat.

• Try not to get caught up in the gimmicks and special rules too much. armies need to be flexible, and too much reliance on one aspect of the army (whether it is shooting, magic, flying, whatever) can make you vulnerable if your opponent can counter that gimmick. make sure you have options and a good solid force to fallback on.

3 Likes

Thanks for the advice and the link! I gave the Good army Lists a shot and tried to keep your advice in mind.

Here’s what I have for a 1k list with 20 points to spare:

Army: Nightstalkers

Unit Strength: 16

195, Scarecrow Legion
Screamshard

195, Scarecrow Legion
Screamshard

120, Specter Regiment

120, Specter Regiment

130, Fiend Regiment

125, Butcher Regiment

95, Horror
Aura (Vicious (Melee) - Infantry Only)

The fiends and butchers are your main damage dealers, I would go for larger units of those (hordes have more attacks and nerve).

1 Like

Thanks! I dropped the scarecrows down to regiments so I could have under 1k points while having Fiend and Butcher Hordes:

Unit Strength: 14

215, Fiend Horde

205, Butcher Horde

85, Scarecrow Regiment
Screamshard

85, Scarecrow Regiment
Screamshard

120, Specter Regiment

120, Specter Regiment

115, Horror
Aura (Vicious (Melee) - Infantry Only)