Question: If a ship is part of an ongoing Boarding Action, can it take the Repairs action instead of Repelling Boarders on Activation?
From Repairs p.36 Rulebook:
“When a ship Activates, it can declare the crew will attempt a Repair Action, unless it has a Blaze marker on it, is Disengaging from non-Surrendered ship, or has already performed Fire as She Bears this Turn. The ship cannot Shoot, make a Grapple or Boarding Action this Activation…”
Ongoing Boarding Actions p.34 Rulebook:
"When a ship Activates and is already Grappled it may either:
- Attempt to Repel Boarders
- Attempt to Disengage
If you look at Repairs rule only it might seem like it would be possible to declare Repairs and skip entire Boarding Action, thus preventing enemy ship (and yours) from attacking this Activation, BUT the Ongoing Boarding Action is clear on what actions you can take, being either Repelling Boarders, or Disengaging. There is no Repairs mentioned there.
Furthermore Repairs rule is clear on being unable to declare Repairs if Disengaging from a non-surrendered Grappled ship. It is also clear you cannot do Boarding Action in the same turn as Repairs, which is the only other possibility if you do not declare Disengage.
If I was to house rule this I would say you CAN declare a Repairs, after electing to Repel Boarders. You then roll for Repairs, while enemy ship is the only one hitting in the Ongoing Boarding Action. This is backed by the way Repairs rule mentions Shooting, Grapple and Boarding Action. It does not state “cannot participate in”, but “The ship cannot Shoot, make a Grapple or Boarding Action this Activation”. It seems to me that the ship cannot attack in Boarding Action, but can be attacked back.
The only alternative is not being able to declare Repairs due to how Ongoing Boarding Actions rule is written, leaving you with two and only two choices on how to proceed on Activation. Still I would rather find a common ground between the two rules.
Otherwise it creates an error404 preventing enemy ship(s) from attacking Repairing ship.
Any chance for this to find a way into the FAQ?