Shooting thru woods

If a regt. of archers are an inch into woods(H6), can they see out and fire normally at any target within

there arc of fire?

1 Like

Can they see out?
Yes, if the leader point is in the woods.

“If a unit’s Leader Point is in a piece of Difficult Terrain, then that unit ignores that piece of Difficult Terrain when checking LoS.” -p24 core rulebook

Difficult terrain includes “…things like woods, crop fields, areas of rocky terrain or scree, ponds and so on.” -p24 core rulebook

And

“A unit can pick a single Enemy unit as a target for its ranged attacks as long as all the following conditions are met:
• The target is at least partially in the unit’s front arc.
• The unit has LoS to the target.
• The distance between the unit’s Leader Point and its target is equal to or less than the weapon’s or spell’s range.” -p26 core rulebook

Can they fire normally?
Maybe.

“The target unit will be in cover if:
• At least half of its base is within Difficult Terrain, or…
• LoS to at least half of the target unit’s facing that is being targeted passes over intervening units or terrain (including Difficult Terrain the target unit is in contact with).” -pg 27 core rulebook

If they have cover because of this, -1 to hit (so not normally) with the exception:

“A firing unit that received a Halt order in its Movement phase ignores any piece of Difficult Terrain that it is currently within, or in base contact with, for determining whether an enemy unit is in cover, unless the enemy unit is also touching or within the same piece of Difficult Terrain.”

Examples: (these all assume that the woods is deeper than the 1" depth of the archer, thus covering >50% of the enemy base if they are straight ahead)

  • Archer is 1" into the woods. During movement they Halt! (don’t move) and shoots straight ahead at the enemy. The enemy is not in/touching the same woods the archer is in.
    The archer shoots normally (without penalty).
  • Archer is 1" into the woods. During movement they Halt! (don’t move) and shoots straight ahead at the enemy. The enemy is this time in/touching the same woods the archer is in.
    The archer shoots abnormally (with -1 penalty, cover).
  • Archer moves 1" into the woods during movement. They shoot straight ahead again at enemy. It doesn’t matter if the enemy is in/touching these woods this time. The archer shoots but not normally (-1 to hit, cover. If no special rules also -1, moving for a total of -2 to hit).

Hope these help a bit.

7 Likes

yes it does TY