Tournament report - 3 games with Abyssal dwarfs (long)

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new to KoW and brand new to abyssal dwarfs, so I decided to jump right in balls-deep and attend an event to get a feel for 3rd edition. I started a new army and made a pledge to focus on one faction only for 2020 to get a good idea of how to play them.
I’ve started a blog to chart my progress with the Abyssal dwarfs throughout the year (https://saxonwargaming.blogspot.com/) where I discuss my list development and post tournament review.
Anyway the event I attended was held in Melbourne, Australia over the weekend with 3 games at 2000 points

so for summary I ran:

Army: Abyssal Dwarfs

Unit Strength: 20

265, Abyssal Grotesque Horde

Maccwar’s Potion of the Caterpillar

245, Abyssal Grotesque Horde

215, Lesser Obsidian Golem Horde

160, Slave Orc Horde

Staying Stone

155, Slave Orc Horde

140, Slave Orc Gore Rider Regiment

85, Gargoyle Troop

85, Gargoyle Troop

210, Ba’su’su the Vile

115, Angkor Heavy Mortar

115, Angkor Heavy Mortar

130, Iron-caster

Surge (8) to replace Fireball

Bane Chant (2)

80, Slavedriver

Lute of Insatiable Darkness

www.goodarmylists.com

So I had a fair idea of how I wanted the list to run. Slave orc hordes backed up with the slave driver ffor rally and inspiring with the golems on one side. I planned to run a crushing flank with Ba’su’su and gargoyles supporting the grotesques.

Game 1 vs Shane G - mission was loot with 3 objectives along the centre line

Shane was a relatively new KoW player as well and was running a nicely themed northern alliance force - which you can see on his blog here: https://chroniclesofwargaming.blogspot.com/

from my (albeit hazy) memory he was running:

3 troops of javelin packhunters

2 regiments of clansmen

horde of clansmen

regiment of snow trolls

horde of snow trolls

snow troll prime

2 regiments of snow foxes

ice queen

lord on chimera