Undead 1k for a beginner

Hi all been a tabletop gamer for years with all the usual gw d&d etc. I am looking at starting up kow as been watching some videos and looking for something new.
I like the udead ad its something all new to me for a new game.
So would this be a good starter list to purchase to gwt me going.

Skele hoard, sword and board.
Mummies regiment
Mummies regiment
Wights hoard.,sword of striking
Necromancer, surge
Liche king, heal, shroud of the saint.

As im brand new i dont know much but, to me skeles as anvil getting king to heal. Wights are a hammer, and mummies to plug gaps. All should be able to stick around with regen and heal. Help would be greatly appreciated as would love to gwt into the hobby over the holidays. TIA

3 Likes

Welcome!
I have been painting and playing mantic Undead since 2015, here is my feedback:

Skeleton horde.
Many people claim zombies are more points efficient while doing a similar task. But the skeletons are not far off. Plus the skeletons are very nice models to paint (agrax earthshade loves mantic skellies). I would claim that spears are a better choice than basic weapons though, because of all the benefits Phalanx has.

Mummies
Solid, no reason not to take. Nice to paint as well.

Wights
Good unit, nice models, although metal and therefor very heavy. Almost to the point that I would suggest finding some plastic or resin models to proxy as Wights. Or go for plastic wraiths instead, as they are also good and have higher mobility.

Necromancer
Lack of Inspiring is a problem, otherwise decent

Liche King
Solid choice

1 Like

Thanks for the advice.
Would dropping the wights down from hoard to regiment, adding the talisman to the necromancer for inspiration, and then a troop of zombies or ghouls make a better mix?

Or to swap the skeles for zombies and take the talisman?

The 1st option gives more units but less hammer. The 2nd might play more into the zombies are just more efficient.
Thanks

2 Likes