Varangur Models and Concepts

I am new to KOW, and am trying to build an army primarily as a hobbying challenge, but I do want to take it to a local tournament or two when it’s done. I bought a Mantic Companion account and am trying to wrap my head around the factions and units.

I bought the old Northern Alliance Mega Army and want to get a head start on some Varangur. I’m painting up the Tribesmen and the Trolls and ready to source some models for the other units.

But for some of them, I’m not exactly sure what they are meant to be!

Can some of you, more knowledgable about the lore and customs help me figure out what sort of models I ought to be looking for for the non-mantic produced units for Varangur?

Like, I can sorta conceptually get that they have cavalry and zombies. But some other things, like “The Fallen” or “Reavers” are more confusing. The Fallen are large infantry? What were they before they fell? Reavers are human? Why do they have crushing strength? Why is a Magus Conclave a war engine? That sounds more like a group of magicians to me.

3 Likes

Hi RansomsRegret, welcome to the hobby.

The Fallen are the original worshippers of Korgaan, known originally as the Var’Kyr
They were exterminated by the Celestials during their war against Korgaan when they realized they could not kill him,the best they could do was imprison him, and wanted to prevent him having any means of escape.
When Korgaan was freed and later in the timeline lead the First Reckoning (which put simply is calling all Varangur together and going for whatever target Korgaan has in mind.(there is actually more to it but my ramblings will already be long enough as is and I easily go off target)) against the Wicked Ones he ordered his Sons to capture a entire colony of Gargoyles .
Taking them all the way to the tombs of the Var’Kyr in a great blood ritual the essences and regenerative abilities of the Gargoyles was used to resurrect the Var’Kyr