Wilberforce's Little Armada Thread

Hey there! So, this is my first thread in the showcase, and I wanted to use it for my Armada projects. I’m just starting out and I am not a good painter, but I have fun painting.

The first minis I got for Armada were some Empire of Dust ships. But I haven’t painted them yet, because they have sails, and dang it, sails are hard! Instead, I have some dwarfs to show! No sails at all. Advantage: Dwarfs

15 Likes

Nice work :+1: I don’t want to come across as a jerk, but the paint looks a bit thick. You don’t have to water down your paints (I rarely do), but I’d recommend just barely dipping your brush into the paint, then brushing that onto the model as thinly as possible. That being said, I like the color scheme you’ve got going on, and it’s always nice to see a new face in the showcase thread

3 Likes

You are definitely not being a jerk! I appreciate the tips, I’ve always had a bit of a problem with making my paints too thick. I’ve never been very good at watering paints down, I always feel like I overwater them, if that’s a thing. I’ll try your method next! Thank you.

2 Likes

I get it, I find watered down paint frustrating to work with

1 Like

A nice start to your fleet @wilberforce!

Totally agree with @TheIcarusCrisis. Thin paint is great and all, but you can get by using thick paint if you have to. Just don’t put too much on your brush and spread it out. If you do want to give thinning your paint a go, just watch some of the warhammer TV tutorials on YouTube. Investing in a wet pallet can also help.

You are very neat and basically halfway there! As a next step, I’d just throw down some armypainter strong tone and go back over some of the edges with the original paint.

2 Likes

Nice job, I like your colour choices, works really well

2 Likes

I dig it!

1 Like