Imperial Dwarfs: A few questions and a 2000pt list

I’m new to Kings of War, I used to play WHFB starting way back in its 6th edition and was planning on starting a Dwarf Army when AoS happened and ended up dropping out of the hobby for years.

I’ve had the 3rd edition compendium for a few days now and I’ve come up with an army list I’d like some feedback on, and a few questions since there’s not a lot of info out there. First, the list:

Earth Elementals Horde
Bulwarkers Horde, Blessing of the Gods
2x Ironguard Regiment
2x Shieldbreakers Troop, Blade of Slashing, Mace of Crushing
2x Rangers Troop
2x Sharpshooters Troop
2x Mastiff Hunting Pack, Throwing Mastiff
2x Ironbelcher Cannon
Stone Priest, Bane Chant, Conjurer’s Staff
Army Standard Bearer, Lute of Insatiable Darkness
2,000 points

And second, the questions:

It seems like most lists have Brock Riders, are they really that essential? I’m not opposed to the concept, I just can’t find dwarf cavalry minis that I don’t hate.

From what I’ve read Bulwarkers don’t seem well liked, with most suggesting that Ironclad do the same job cheaper, but between the extra attacks and Phalanx they seem worth it to me, have I got it completely wrong?

Opinions on Rangers seem to vary wildly, I like the concept of them, but would I be better off taking Berserkers instead?

Given the amount of static shooting in the list, would a Warsmith with the Sacred Horn be more useful than the standard bearer with the lute?

5 Likes

Couple quick thoughts:

The Royal Guard formation is very good and basically remixes the units above in bold. I’d recommend rebuilding the list around the formation.